Doctrines and rituals

The Buddhist community is referred to as sangha (Skt. ‘group’). It is made up of monks, nuns, and lay Buddhists. The relationship between a lay community and an order of monks or nuns is beneficial for both sides. The monks and nuns depend on donations from the former; in return, they provide religious instruction and perform rituals and ceremonies on their behalf.