Three Jewels

Doctrines and rituals

The Three Jewels (Skt. triratna) of Buddhism include the Buddha, his teaching (dharma), and the community. Anyone wishing to join the Buddhist community seeks refuge in the Three Jewels. At the ceremony one recites the following formula three times: ‘I seek refuge in the Buddha; I seek refuge in his teaching; I seek refuge in the community.’